Birthday, lady boys and other highlights of Pai, second time around

Happy birthday me! Such a strange birthday this year as I’m in transit between Pai and China. Left Pai yesterday after 3.5 weeks and caught a bus with a friend all the way down to Bangkok. Slept really well thanks to a Sangsom (Thai rum) nightcap! When I woke up in Bangkok this morning it took about 15 minutes for me to remember that it was my birthday. I’m killing time in Bangkok today and flying to China tonight.

Reflecting on a few of the funny things that have happened over the past few weeks and thought I’d consolidate it into one post, because I’ve been a bit lazy with the blog lately.

1. Ladyboy massage
I love ladyboys, they’re so fabulous, but I never thought I’d spend an hour being rubbed intimately by one. Still, not a bad massage!

2. Meditation
A cafe in town does a free 30-minute guided massage three times a week and I wanted to give it a try. I’d never done meditation before but thought it would be good for me. I went four times and while I’m not very good at turning my brain off, I’d like to try it some more.

3. Being the longest-serving student during my last training session
I knew it was time to move on when, in my last Muay Thai session, I was the person who had been training at Charn Chai the longest (eight weeks). I got to lead the abdominal session at the end, which was a dream come true haha. Power trip…

4. Eating chicken blood, chicken tendons, raw pork…
I think I mentioned earlier that this time in Pai I ate my meals at the gym. It’s all local market or home cooked food, a lot of it rather mysterious. Coagulated chicken blood in soup broth, raw minced pork, deep fried chicken tendons – and I didn’t even get sick!

5. Valentine’s Day rose
I should have realised in advance, judging by the overly dramatic Thai soapies and music video clips, that the Thais would be nuts for Valentine’s Day. As I mentioned in my last post, I woke up on the 14th to find a rose from the guy who managed my guest house (who has a girlfriend and a new baby). Not such a welcome gift, actually.

6. Thai honesty
I was told twice in 24 hours by Thai men that I should do more exercise because I’m ‘too big’. One of them followed up the next day by asking if I’d weighed myself yet. When I explained that Western women don’t like men commenting on their weight, he said ‘I know, that’s why I’m telling you, so that you know’. I think he might have missed the point.

7. Hello Kitty wheels
As I was staying a few kilometres out of town, my guest house provided a bike for me to use. Best part was that it was a hot pink, Hello Kitty, double seater bicycle and it was my constant companion for three weeks. I went everywhere on it, gave people lifts on the back, and actually crashed it one Saturday night trying to ride down the main street with a friend on the back (no major injuries though!). Sangsom strikes again…

My time ended with a three-day birthday celebration – a barbeque at the gym on Saturday night, ice cream sundaes on Sunday and tonight, I’m staying in a nice hotel when I land in Guangzhou, China. Here’s to 24 being as fun as 23.

20130225-102552.jpg

<a
Birthday girls Tai and I – note the kilos of icing on those cakes

20130225-102601.jpg

<a
Andre and I leaving Pai for our 13-hour bus trip to Bangkok

20130225-102608.jpg
Pad work with Turbo

Leave a Reply

